For Loggers:

Master Logger Certification

The Northeast Master Logger Certification Program (NEMLC) is the first third-party harvest certification program in the world and also earned the first SmartLogging certification through the Rainforest Alliance.  Rainforest Alliance brings this global recognition to the NEMLC program and ensures that as similar harvest certification programs are created around the US there is an established precedent for a high standard of timber harvesting practices.

For Loggers:

NE Safe Logger

NE Safe Logger is an entry level safety and workers’ comp. compliance training  program for new entrants to the logging industry. This is a way for your company to create a culture of safety and reduce risk.

For Landowners:

Forest Management Certification -FSC®

TCNEF administers an FSC®-certified group of family forest landowners throughout New England and New York. Under this arrangement forest landowners can inexpensively gain access to FSC® group certification. TCNEF is the administrative body that holds the FSC certificate and has overall responsibility for compliance with the FSC® Northeast Regional Standard. Forest Stewardship Council (FSC®) Group Forest Management Certificate (NC-FM/COC-001881)

For Forest Industry:

Chain-of-Custody Certification -FSC®

TCNEF administers an FSC®-certified group of Chain of Custody that provides an information trail, established and audited according to rules set by FSC, for Master Loggers and wood products companies to ensure that wood comes from certified forests.  Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) group chain of custody certificate (NC-COC-001677).

The Process of Certification:

We can help!

The Trust provides assistance to companies/foresters/loggers/forest products industry seeking group chain of custody or Forest Management certification. This includes:

  • Guidance in the selection of a certification system that fits your company
  • The development and documentation of your certification system
  • Conducting a risk assessment
  • Training your staff for their certification responsibilities
  • Developing tools for maintaining your certification system
  • Preparing your company for certification audits and assessments.

The Trust is experienced with Forest Stewardship Council (FSC®), Sustainable Forest Initiative (SFI) and Program for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC) chain of custody certification.

For more information contact Ted Wright at, or by phone at 207-688-8195 option 2.

The Trust To Conserve Northeast Forestlands

The Trust to Conserve Northeast Forestlands (TCNEF) is a 501(c)3 organization formed by the Professional Logging Contractors of Maine in 2003 to administer the Northeast Master Logger Certification program, Forest Management Certification and Chain of Custody Certification with the broader goal of:

Enhancing the health of the working forest through exceptional accountability